Never Miss Any Updates or News!

Enter Your E-mail Address
Enter Your First Name (optional)
Then

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Treadmill Addicts Newsletter.

my 20 year old True

by roberta levy
(lake geneva wi, usa)

Well, I have owned this machine for about 15-20 years now and have only had to have one repair on it...the computer went out while it was on warranty and the store came and fixed it. It has just run and run and run whenever I turned it on...lost the little red dohickey that you are supposed to use for a safety line to your chest about 8 years ago somewheres in the house..so I fit up a 1/4 piece of round doll wood and it works just fine...no problemos people...have taught three dogs to walk on it too...two of them don't like to but the first one, a pug used to exercise every day by walking to the back of my feet while I did my 30-45 minute routine....got on this site because my chest strap seems to have stretched out a bit and I need to get a new one...Ht Rate, Mets, Cals, speed, lift all work as well as the day I got it...sometime in the 80's....maybe they made them better then? Donno...but this one doesn't owe me one penny...

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

True ES-5.0/OB

This treadmill replaced my True-500 OB that had had a good life of use. My treadmills are not over used.

After 2 years and multiple service calls for replacement of the deck, ortho belt, computer, bumpers, front and rear rollers, HR board receiver, and multiple heart rate belts there is still a problem.

The HR does not adjust properly over 5 mph when speed and incline are changed manually.

Gym Source, NJ has given up and says there is no fix.
I am now working directly with TRUE to see if there could be a software fix.

Clearly this machine was a lemon and should have been replaced at the beginning.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

True Treadmill 450 HRC experience

by John
(Frisco, Tx usa)

I purchased a 450 HRC in Dec of 97 - the first bill or problem I have ever had with it occurred recently - and it is expensive to replace the circuit board - so I'll probably purchase a new treadmill and start with new warranties - especially since the motor is startng to get loud. Overall, the experience was good, although I was hoping it would last longer than 10 years, possibly my expectations were too much?

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

1996 Model 450 !!!

Still use my 1996 model 450 treadmill four to five days a week and do five miles each time. Still works like a charm!!! Best purchase I've made ... Ever!!!

Comments for 1996 Model 450 !!!

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 12, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
About my 1996 450-Fabulous
by: Anonymous

Feeling very guilty buying a treadmill as my hi-rise has a physical fitness center that I just don't use.

So, to solve the problem I looked for a treadmill, the only 2 requirements being that it had an automatic incline and it was cheap.


Long story short, their was a Salvation Army Family Store a few doors down from this fabulous Bar B Que place where we were eating and lo and behold there was a treadmill in the window.


And, knowing nothing about treadmills, I bought it because it worked perfectly.


And, hold on to your hat, it was only $65 tax included.


What a find! It's quiet, smooth, inclines, and I have no guilt.

Our handyman tightened the screws and it is very sturdy.

Out of curiosity, called the company and gave them the model no. which is how I found out the age.

It's a True Fitness 450 Soft System.


Inclines to at least 15. I really believe this machine wasn't used much - belt is very clean and so is the rest of the machine.


I should be on it instead of writing about it.


-----Comments------

Congrats. Excellent deal, really a steal...

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

true 550 ZTX-CI

I purchased the True 550 ZTX-CI in January 2004. It was costly, but I was tired of treadmills breaking down and felt if I bought "a really good" one, I would be all set. The treadmill is used 45 min. to 1 hour a day, 5 to 6 days a week. After 7 months the roller bar had to be replaced because the sticky "tape" was coming off. The second roller bar was replaced in October 2007, ($100 repair bill). In June 2008, the display showed E-5 Stall. I tried to "calibrate" it a few times with no luck, A certified True technician came out, could not find anything wrong ($100 repair bill). In November 2008 the third roller bar had to be replaced, ($100 repair bill). (Each time, I was told the new bar would definitely be the fix.) The next day, I was 5 minutes into my workout, it shut down again, displaying No Speed Sensor. I recalibrated it a few times and one time it even came up with Flex Data Fault. The same repair man came out and felt the motor was bad and also felt the lower board was bad. It took 3 weeks to receive the parts. He then came out ($100 more) and replaced both items. Both were bad. I still had to pay him for his time, even though my treadmill was not fixed. The parts were reordered again. Now it is January 2009. I have the parts, but I'm waiting for them to be installed. I contacted True and they have agreed to pay for this installation.

Bottom line, I have been so frustrated through this whole experience, I would never recommend anyone to purchase a True Treadmill. I am hoping this motor will work. I have another 5 years on my warranty, but I can assure you the day the warranty is up, it will be out with the garbage. I have over $6500 invested in 5 years, that would have been one nice gym membership or even 5 cheap treadmills.

Comments for true 550 ZTX-CI

Average Rating star

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 06, 2013
Rating
star
Makes no sense
by: Anonymous

How do you claim you have $6500 in the treadmill. I own a True ZTX CI that I bought in 2006 and the machine will smoke any treadmill to this day.. Did you ever ponder the idea if the service tech you hired knows what their doing??

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

True 500A P - True 500 P Treadmill Review

by Peter
(NJ)

I weigh 150 lbs. and have used it about 2 hrs. every day walking at 3.7 mph up a 12% incline, and had no issues until now.


It is erratic, and speeds up or stops and restarts abruptly, and is certainly dangerous.


Time to get another unit, True's Control boards are not reasonably priced @ $387, and that is for the board repaired, not new.


Had no trouble with it after buying it used about 6 years ago from someone that probably didn't use it much.

Comments for True 500A P - True 500 P Treadmill Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 28, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
True 500A P - True 500 P Treadmill Review
by: Marissa

Hi Peter:


For the age of this treadmill, you are certainly right, no worth investing that kind of money into it.

Best get a new one.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

True 450HRC treadmill heart rate monitor not working

How do I find a repair part or information on monitor replacement for true 450 hrc monitor? It works perfectly otherwise and has been used occasionally but not heavily, for many years.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

True FAIL

I bought a True 500SE. It worked great for years, and then would no longer start when the key was inserted. The local authorized dealer said the defective part is no longer available. Great. Now I have about three hundred pounds of very expensive junk. Thanks, True.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

TRUE Z5.4, a piece of junk

by Will Phillips
(Manistique, MI)

I bought one of these two years ago for $3500.
Because of defective software, I could not program the unit. The company had to redesign this version of the model; they took five months.

Earlier this year, it developed a stall; the service call was $140 to "re-program". Several weeks after that, the cover on the roller buckled, tearing up the belt. (a new roller was developed after my purchase). My cost: $160.
I originally went to the local dealer intending to replace my old Precor. Buying a TRUE was a huge mistake.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

My True Didn't Even Last One Year

by Kenley
(Chicago, IL)

Just as the article above indicated, I bought a TRUE treadmill because it was so smooth, quiet, and seemed to be built on a sound, solid foundation. I paid about $3,000 for it and expected it to last a good long time. I was told by the dealer that it was a top notch machine. I used the treadmill 3-4 days a week -- the fastest speed I went was 3.7 because I only did a fast walk. After one year, the treadmill just died on me. I was stunned because for the price, I certainly expected the machine to last a lot longer -- especially since I really didn't tax the machine.

Believe it or not, I was thinking about getting another one because I thought that perhaps my experience was the exception. I'm glad I found this site. I won't buy another True machine. I'll just look for something else.


Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

The new 2009 True Treadmills are The Best

I have recently purchased a new 2009 True 600 treadmill and have to say it is the best treadmill I have ever used.I know you don't recomend them but you should reconsider your comments that they are not a good machine..I have owned several different treadmills including Precor and my dealer has never given me bad service......

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

TRUE has run for 11 years without more than Lube and adjustment

by Sean
(Pleasanton, CA, USA)

Not sure why TMT slams True in their write-up? The motor, deck, frame parts and engineering appear to be superior to what is out there today, this based on my experience and feedback I received from a technician who lubed deck and adjusted tension on one of two True treadmills I now own. I'm a medium to long range runner weighing approximately 200 lbs and 6'4", so I would consider the wear I put on treadmill medium to high. When I asked a tech to check motor on 450 when lubing, he said the brushes looked like new even though I have used consistently for 10 years. He said the date of manufacture was 1999 from the sticker on control board.

My question to treadmilltips.com, why are you leaving your old web page review up? Do you receive some sort of benefit for praising True's competitor...Landice? I would ask this of treadmilltips.com, why don't you update your review with fresh information that shows internals of Landice and TRUE Fitness motor and control area? Side-by-side closeups would be good. Skip all the bells and whistles above and concentrate your review on how each is built from ground up.

I now own both the 450 and a 525 OP from True. I picked up the 525 on CL to get orthopedic belt and longer deck...giving this "older runner" more room for error. My "like new"(9 year old) 525OP runs like new. When I searched for a used True to save a couple of bucks, I noticed True's are rarely offered used by individuals compared to all other brands, of which, none seem to hold their value when compared to a used True...I wonder why?

I will continue to run and enjoy a True and hope that others who read this try a True over the brands TMT definitely favors. When you are looking at treadmills over $2,000 you should ask a salesman to open up motor area...you will be surprised by what you see. Lastly, if you see complaints about burned out treadmill motors in any treadmill, I would say this, do you think the author lubed their running deck every 3 months and adjusted belt and motor tension properly?

Let's see if TMT will post an opinion that I believe is fair.

Have a fun run... :-)

Comments for TRUE has run for 11 years without more than Lube and adjustment

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 17, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
True 525 1999
by: Barry

Agreed. Being handy and attentive to lube and belt tension is important. Still, I had a weak resistor in the PSM motor controller broad almost made me junk it. Now it runs great. For want of a fifty cent part on a circuit board. I wonder if replacing the running belt could be a DOY job? The whole machine seems mechanically simple. Built like a tank. Great stable deck.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

TRUE 450 HRC

by Rich
(St. Louis, MO)

I've owned a TRUE 450HRC for more than 11 years. Both my wife and I have used the treadmill extensively, putting several thousand miles on the machine. In addition, I've run on Precor, StarTrac, and Landice treadmills in various gyms & hotels. Simply put, True builds the best treadmill on the market. It has a stable platform, it's quiet, and runs true to speed. The 450 has a compact footprint, which is a real advantage for saving space in a home workshop (18" x 52"). While some people might view the "small" deck as a drawback, it really just saves space. In the time I've owned the treadmill, True has done some warranty work on the treadmill. The motor was replaced during the initial warranty period due to a defect. In addition, a cast iron mechanism on the elevation unit broke, but was replaced (lifetime warranty on the frame). Since then we have also replaced the front roller and control panel on the treadmill. The touch button controlling stop/go on the treadmill had stopped working and needed to be replaced after about 10 years. Given the amount of use our treadmill sees in a given year, I consider most of these issues to be normal wear & tear on the treadmill (with the exception of the motor and cast iron bracket).

If I needed to buy another treadmill, it would be a True. True's warranty offers 30 years motor, 10 years parts, and lifetime frame.

No other treadmill on the market combines the quality, warranty, and running performance of a True treadmill. Simply the best.

Comments for TRUE 450 HRC

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
true treadmill longevity
by: 3d constructorsAnonymous

I bought my True 450 HRC over 10 years ago. This is the most trouble free unit I have ever owned. I previously owned Procor, Nordic track, Universal and others. Since Then, I have bought True's recumbant bike, their work out equipment and their elliptical machine. I have been very impressed with all True's machines that I have bought. I have had the bike, the elliptical and the work out equipment for over 3 years. Very happy with all of them. No problems and very little minor maintenance.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

Orth Belt and Shorting problem

by KJ
(Camas, WA)

I have a True HRC Z5 with the Ortho belt S.O.F.T. system.
This machine trips the internal fuse anytime you go over 4mph. I have had the tech out to fix six times. The last time out (now out of warranty), he told me there was a design error in the belt that caused an electrical charge to build. He explained True has a replacement belt. He charged me $300 to replace the belt. Works fine now. I called True and said you can't possibly expect me to pay for this? They said too bad, you are paying for it. Anyone else have this problem?

Comments for Orth Belt and Shorting problem

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 27, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Who did you call!?!
by: Anonymous

I work as a tech consultant for TRUE. Call my office at 800-883-8783. Give the technician who answers the serial number of your unit (located on the base of the unit next to the power cord)and we will email you an exploded view and service manual. If you are calling the store you purchased it from, you are not talking to TRUE! Our office hours are Monday - Friday 8:30am to 5:30pm central standard time.

Feb 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
NEVER BY A TRUE
by: Anonymous

We have a Z5 True. We had to buy a new belt too. After that it worked for a while. One day it was in use, pause was touched to step away for a moment, when we returned, it had completely shut down. Even the dash lights were off. It will not respond now. It is completely dead. We tested the outlet and it was fine. We think there must be a fuse in it. The company will not provide any information on the problem. They want a lot of money just to look at it. That isn't going to happen. Where can we get a schematic so we can fix it ourselves? NEVER BUY A TRUE.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

I LOVE my 450 TRUE Treadmill

by Heidi
(Sandpoint, ID USA)

I bought my 450 used, for about $900, 7 years ago. I still have it, use it, and absolutely LOVE it. It is by far the best home treadmill I have ran on. I panic when I think about having to buy a different model someday.

First, it is very slim, and the perfect apt size treadmill. It just takes no more space than a window plant stand next to my window. I really can't stand how huge other treadmills are. I account for it's space saving because, 1. It has no side rails, but instead a front rail. 2. The unit is only about 2 feet wide, which has always been more than enough for a 6 foot man to run on.

Secondly, it is SUPER quiet. And soft to the feet.

Thirdly, the grade goes up to 15, which is climbing a steep mountain! I love that.

Lastly, the 6 bolts come out easily so the unit head folds down. You can easily reach all the innards to clean out (or replace parts).

After 7 years, I finally had to replace a bushing in the tread wheel. I am a mere woman, and I replaced it myself.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

True 450 design flaw - self destruct feature

by Craig Wasson
(Swanton, MD)

I have a True 450 treadmill which is about 10 years old. It got very little use but recently I decided to get back in shape. Unfortunately the treadmill now won't work and displays an EEPROM error message.

I did some research online and apparently they used a component to store the software that controlls the treadmill which has an internal battery with a 10 year lifetime. So when they sold this they KNEW it would quit working after 10 years. Now they want $489.00 plus S/H for a new circuit board.

How do I know whether this new board is new or old - it may have old components and be about to die too.

I am hesitant to do business with a company that would sell a product with a built-in self-destruct feature.

Comments for True 450 design flaw - self destruct feature

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 26, 2018
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
True 500 belt runs with safety key out
by: Anonymous

I have a 2002 True 500 with very low hours.

The belt keeps spinning even with safety key removed at about 1/2 - 1 mile per hour.

The machine works okay for a few minutes and then shuts down back to the very slow speed.

Paid the $95 diagnostic fee to find it needs a new $700 circuit board.

Jan 12, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
450P- Internal Battery or EEPROM resolution?
by: Eric

A friend recently gave me a True 450P treadmill.

It hasn't been used in a couple years and is in very good shape.

When I plugged it in and turned the power on the display scrambles, the belt turns on for a second, the incline adjusts and the cycle repeats several times before the panel just displays this "----".


Has anybody tried replacing the battery, EEPROM or the entire control panel with any luck in getting the treadmill running?

I have only found this issue online with no solid resolution to the problem.

Aug 18, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Solution problem
by: jairo

Hello,
You can try to perform a hard reset the machine. This may solve the problem for you.

To perform a hard reset they need to turn off the machine. With the added security key, press + , - , and start buttons then turn the machine on .
If you do not arise effect , have a technician in electronic replace the IC- 93C66N that is on then Control Panel repeat the above process ..

After the reboot of the machine will need to be recalibrated before a workout.

To calibrate the machine press and hold the up and down to enter the security key . Turn off and on again, and so is ready for use .

Aug 18, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstar
True 450 Treadmill Poor Electronics (Don't unplug it )
by: Armand P.

I had the same problem with my True 450 Treadmill. The unit was always kept in a clean, neat area and was very well maintained. However, I had an injury which limited my mobility causing me to unplug my treadmill since it wasn't going to be used for a few months. Well, when I eventually plugged it back in it no longer worked and would only display "TRUE" and "----".

Based on research I have done, I believe the failures on these True Control Boards is not due to a battery, but an EEPROM Chip Failure that holds the treadmill operating system. What really makes me angry, is that the part probably costs less than $5.00 and could easily be replaced with a new EPROM/OS and a little solder on the original Main Control Board. There is no need for a full control board replacement. I think the recommendation for a brand new board is the result of a poor product design and "Highway Robbery" This is the last "True Fitness" product I will ever buy! Look on Ebay for mint True 450 parts for sale, cheap!

Nov 03, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Either my motor or controller went out
by: Billy Phx az

I had a company from Tempe AZ come out for 95.00 charge to tell me this $ullshit.


The motor is about 500 to 600 dollars and the control board is $500 too.


So I bought a used True 450 out of craigslist for HOW MUCH YOU ASK.....$120 CASH.


Thanks for trying to hose me.


Yes I got the whole machine...Bill Phx az

Oct 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
true treadmill control panel circuit board
by: don giles

I have a True zxt 850 hrc treadmill which gives an eeprom error and reccomends relacement of board at about $600.

Surely one should be able to obtain the programmed chip and solder it in place. Please advise or sell me a used board for a reasonable price.

Jan 27, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Parts
by: Anonymous

Do you have to use their Board??


Maybe call a local dealer and see if they can help you.


I purchased my TRUE from 2nd Wind fitness and like you just started using it again and I also am having trouble E5 Sensor, I haven't looked into it yet, but plan on calling both TRUE and 2nd Wind fitness.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

Second True Purchase

by LaDonna Douglas
(Oklahoma City, OK)

I have recently purchased a used True 500 series. My first treadmill was also a True, which I bought new around 10 years ago. I suspect it was a 400 series model.

Both True treadmills are superior in performance and quiet in operation. I have been totally satisfied.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

450 HRC - 22 years and still going

by Harald Hagen
(Young Harris, GA 30582 USA)

Purchased my 450 HRC in 1997 and it runs like it did new
so the elections can't be all that bad as your rating suggests
Harald Hagen Young Harris GA

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

so quiet I..

by dai manuel
(vancouver bc canada)

...Fell face first onto a true ps300 when I walked onto the belt to reach for the console. I didn't realize I'd left it running aLl night and when I went for the console and stepped up onto the machine, I didn't notice it was on and bammm!. Now I'm not saying its silent. Mearly that the smoothness and quietness of this unit blends what noise it makes into the ambient background noise so you stop hearing it after a while. No other thread has ever tricked me into a fall like that.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

Trainer, Runner, Cyclist

by chris
(Toronto)

I have much experience in the treadmill world and after reading your comments either the TRUE models you tried we lemons or I have the golden treadmill!!
My TRUE 500 from 2002/2003 S.O.F.T system is theeeee best treadmill I have ever owned and its still going strong. I perfer running on it than on the life fitness and precor models at my gym.
No slip, great performance and I have had great service from my dealer. I service annually. If treadmill owners dont regualrly service their machines they are asking for issues.
I only wish I was getting paid for this comment, but , the truth stands.

I forgot in my original submission to thank you for all your work in these reviews they have been helpful.
With appreciation, Chris

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

True 525 bought in 2000

by Barry
(Westchester County, NY)

Last year my sturdy treadmill stopped working. I found an independent repair company who determined the motor control board (PWM) was bad). He suggested I could save money by having it repaired rather than buying a new one. He referred me to J&R Technical Services in Ft. Lauderdale. Thus began a journey. The short version is it took three trips back and forth to find an undocumented defect in a resistor.

Early in the last decade when the machine was under warranty I had years of service calls where new motors, PWMs, lower level limiter switches etc were replaced. I believe my machine and others of that ilk are plagued by defects in electronics parts worth pennies that cost hundreds to repair if anyone can even figure out the problem.

My treadmill now runs like a dream. The frame and deck are outstanding, and the ride is way above any machine I have used in gyms. The cost of a service call from the original dealer is prohibitive at $250.00. Like an old German car find a good independant mechanic. Also not all parts are avaliable. I studied the service manual myself and now believe I can troubleshoot and fix many problems if they occur. The tech support at True is very helpful even though my machine is from 2000.

The bottom line is True treadmills have outstanding structural build quality and as with other brands, uncertain electronics reliability. If your get lucky the can last forever or they can be a huge headache. I would buy another True treadmill because the new warranty is much longer.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

True Treadmill - sudden acceleration

by Lisa Tucker
(Dallas, Texas)

I used a True Z6.1 treadmill. The treadmill suddenly accelerated out of control, threw me, I broke both shoulders. Has anyone had a similar experience with a True treadmill?

Comments for True Treadmill - sudden acceleration

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 11, 2018
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
SUDDEN ACCELERATION OF TREADMILL
by: JOHN KOVAC

HAS ANYONE EXPERIENCED A PROBLEM WITH SUDDEN ACCLERATION INVOLVING A LIFE FITNESS TREADMILL?

Jan 28, 2018
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not thrown off, but almost
by: Anonymous

My Horizon treadmill had randomly started to instantly speed up on its own to full speed then stop.

Luckily I've been able to jump to the side every time this has happened.

Thank you for this site as at least now I know what might be happening.

Apr 14, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Horizon T50 Sudden acceleration
by: Bert deVries

I too was thrown off my Horizon T50 treadmill when the motor control board failed, and it instantly accelerated to full speed. I was wearing the stop cord, but that didn't prevent me being thrown off. Luckily, I didn't break any bones. The Horizon T50 is a very sturdy treadmill, but the electronics are unreliable crap.

Nov 25, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Sudden acceleration
by: BLeigh

I have a Horizon Treadmill digital series DT850 that suddenly accelerated to top speed. Lucky I had the stop cord attached to my body. I am a senior and hate to think of the damages to body if thrown off. Of course it is out of warranty & I can't get any answers from the store.
$800 bucks plus & this lady is outside walking at a much slower pace.

BLeigh

Apr 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Treadmill sudden acceleration
by: Jack Tracy

I represent a woman who suffered the exact same injury as the result of the exact same occurence on a Star Trac machine. We believe when the motor control board is defective the machine defaults to the highest speed. Contact me for more info Jtracy@tracyandstilwell.com

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

Nice Equipment

I am a tech person at a facility. I take care of 10 Treadmills 4 Elipticals and 5 bike made by True Fitness.

The Bikes run great and do not need to much attention. The elipticals are a pain in the butt to try to keep clean. I made some mats to slide under them which collect a lot of sweat and dirt. Not the easiest to clean. 2 of the 4 Elipticals frames broke after the warrenty had expired. They are easy to take apart and weld up. The treadmills need to be blown out monthly due to dust. 10 of our consoles have TV`s which worked for about a week and they all quit working. It took True Fitness over 1 year to fix this problem. I am glad they finally figured it out but they were dishonest with us the whole time. I had to deal with several tech people to get them on this, even the managers and CEO of the company. They all said the same thing. We are the ONLY company in the COUNTRY to have this problem.

About a month before the problem was fixed one of their technicians slipped and told me when they figure out the problem we would be the first to get the new consoles. After this they admited several places have this problem. I like all the True fitness products. The technicians are very willing to help me fix whatever problem I am having with one of their machines. Honesty is important.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

True 500 CI


We have had our True treadmill since 1999. It has been awesome and we love how it feels to walk, jog, run, uphill too. It has many extra features on it. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

Unhappy True 450 owner

We purchased a 450HRC six years ago.(It has been stored in a clean area, untouched.) Other than a handful of times, we did not use it until 2 months ago. It has now been used a total of about 30 times and the belt ripped. It costs a huge amount (around $1000)to replace the belt. (We're still looking into the accuracy of the GymSource rep who told us that amount.) In any event, considering the number of times we used the treadmill, I would not purchase another True treadmill.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

True 500 HRC Soft

by Mary Kay
(Phoenix, AZ)

I have a True treadmill. It is a 500 with heart rate monitor and ortho belt. I love it!! I would recommend it to all especially those with lower back, knee and all joint problems. The ortho belt is awesome and I hate using treadmills that don't have one. It is a huge difference having one and the true treadmill is quiet, smooth and dependable. However, you will pay the price for all of it. For me it is worth it because I can exercise without having pain.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

Reliable Beyond Belief


(Illinois)

I bought my True 500E back in '92. Well FINALLY after 17 years it died. Only once back 10 years ago did I have a minor problem. Needless to say I would buy another one.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

old guy

by Jim
(Maryland)

On December 22, 2007, I took delivery of a True ES9.0. I am pleased with both the treadmill and the service from Gym Source, the local True dealer. The treadmill features built in dual fans and a four (five?) speaker ipod-friendly stereo system. On the day of delivery, neither the fan nor the stereo functioned. A sales person from Gym Source immediately came to my home and made both operational after a few minutes. (Two electrical plugs had not been connected when the unit was assembled at the store.)

This is my third treadmill. The first was a Keys treadmill, purchased in 2000; the second an EVO purchased in 2004. The bearings on the Keys's front roller wore out. The Evo still works, but seems to have become louder and creakier with age. (But then, so have I.) The True ES9.0 is far quieter, smoother, and more comfortable. (And, of course, costlier.) Whether it stands up to my use and abuse better than the earlier purchases is too soon to tell.

I really like the Heart control feature, which adjusts both incline and speed in order to keep your heart rate within a few beats/minute of a selected number. (Give the treadmill your age, weight, and other data, and the treadmill will select a target heart rate for you -- and even give you a workout schedule for the next 25 weeks. I thought that was my wife's job.)

The built-in stereo, which I initially considered a silly, unnecessary trinket, is growing on me. The sound quality is quite good. And I appreciate not needing to deal with headphones and wires.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

Tread Mill

by Leroy Strong
(G. R. Mi USA)

We own a True 500 CL,after a few years it would suddenly shut off while in progress.
Unplugging or restarting didn't help either.
Some days it would not even start but some days it would work perfectly.
I talked with company technician. They then sent us a tech to the house to repair for about $ 100.00 + time and parts. It ran a day. He returned 2 more times to get us a new wiring harness. But he didn't know how to rewire the machine so he just left it with me.
I still haven't been able to do anything other then shove everything into a corner of basement---this was two years ago

My wife says fix it or throw it away.
I hoped to find some one that could repair this model. The company stopped making this model and parts are no longer available.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

My True 500 finally died...after 17 years

Sad, but the motor finally went. The Pacific Scientific 1.5 HP motor from this model finally gave out (the new ones are 3 HP) and TRUE had no replacement available but said that if they did it would run around $600. I found a good condition used True 500 HRC on Craigslist for $500 tonight, and may try getting my old one running by taking the motor to a local motor shop.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

Would not recommend a true

by Peter
(Cleveland Ohio)

We have had a True treadmill for 7 years and just recently we heard a loud thumping noise. The bearings in the motor were no longer functioning appropriately. We ended up finding out that the treadmill only comes with a one year warranty. I'm not sure how that stacks up with other treadmills, but for the price we paid I would expect the company to stand by there products for longer than a year. While the treadmill was functioning it provided a smooth workout. However, reliability ranks high on my list of priorities. In the future, I will steer clear of this brand due to its limited warranty.

Comments for Would not recommend a true

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 29, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstar
TRUE QUALITY IS THE WORST
by: JAY

We purchased our 540 HRC for about $4,000 to $5,000.

We had no problems with it until a couple years ago, the motor stopped working.

Somehow we had the impression that the treadmill had either a long or a lifetime warranty on major parts.

To our dismay, the warranty was limited, and it only lasted one to five years, depending on the problem.

It did not matter to us because it was longer than five years since we had purchased our treadmill.

Even worse, the motor was made by a company which had folded. No worries, True is happy to sell us a new motor for over $1,000, more 1/2 the price of a brand new True treadmill.

Please don't buy from True. This company has ripped off so many of its customers.


The tech who diagnosed our problem shared our view of True.


He is not in sales, but he discourages his friends from purchasing a product that has economically harmed so many of its customers.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.

Stiff platform, and incline

by William Myers
(Fort Dodge, IA)

We just received two true treadmills at my unit. They look real nice, and the belt runs real smooth, but it feels like I'm running on concrete. Not a whole lot of flex. And at the 0 incline it feels like I'm running up hill.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to True.